I got so many books for Christmas, either as a gift from my family or a gift I bought for myself. I’m giving myself a pretty intimidating TBR for January, but I should have a lot of free time. I’ve already finished one book in January, The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima. I’m not including it on my TBR, but it will be included in my monthly wrap-up. Without further-ado, my January TBR:

  1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
  2. The Exiled Queen by Cinda Williams Chima
  3. The Gray Wolf Throne by Cinda Williams Chima
  4. The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima
  5. Crystal Storm by Morgan Rhodes
  6. The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson

I’m currently trying to finish Illuminae, which I started the last couple days of December, but put it down to read The Demon King. I’m having a really hard time following what’s going on. I really love Kate and Ezra, but all of the other character just bleed together. I love how unique the book is in the way it is presented, but I’m really struggling to grasp the plot. Everything is happening at once. I’m not sure what’s happening at all, but I’m only a hundred or so pages in.

Once I finish Illuminae, I plan on finishing the Seven Realms series. I LOVED The Demon King, so I’m very excited to finish the rest of the series. After the Seven Realms series, I want to dive in the fifth book in the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes. I marathon read the first four books in October. I’m going to set aside a whole 24 hours, so I can be fully engrossed in this book.

If everything turns out well, the last book I want to read is The Hero of Ages– the third (and final? [There are more books in the series, but it’s set in the future]) book in the Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson. I have to take breaks in between reading these books, because they are such a heavy high fantasy. I really really adore the series and can’t wait to finish Vin’s journey.

Hopefully I will be able to read these six books in January, which will put me at a total of seven books read in January. A great start to my 2017 Reading Challenge.

Leave a Reply

